Update: Indonesia increases mandatory quarantine to 10 days

3rd December 2021

Indonesia has increased the mandatory quarantine for travelers coming to Indonesia to 10 days.

Just days after Indonesia had reacted to the Omicron variant and increased the quarantine period to 7 days, now the government has passed a new regulation increasing the mandatory quarantine to 10 days.

The mandatory quarantine for eligible foreign nationals Indonesians (WNA) is now 10 x 24 hours. Depending on the time of your arrival and the time of your 2nd PCR in the quarantine hotel the day before check-out this could mean 9 or even 10 nights in the hotel. 

This regulation will take effect on 3rd December 2021.

No Entry for 17 Countries remains in place

International travelers coming from following countries below can not transit or enter Indonesia due to pre-existing travel restrictions and new travel bands due to the Omicron Variant:

  1. Afghanistan
  2. Botswana
  3. Eswatini
  4. Guinea
  5. Hong Kong
  6. Israel
  7. Kamerun
  8. Lesotho
  9. Liberia
  10. Malawi
  11. Mozambique
  12. Namibia
  13. Nigeria
  14. North Korea
  15. Somalia
  16. South Africa
  17. Zimbabwe

The e-visa and KITAS handling process for applicants from these countries above is also temporarily suspended.
Indonesian citizens traveling from the countries listed above can return to Indonesia following strict health protocols with a longer quarantine period of 14days.

Stay Updated

Traveling during these uncertain times due to the pandemic can be very challenging as the travel regulations of many countries, including Indonesia, keep being updated. We expect more restrictions to be put in place within the next few weeks.

You can always visit our website to check the latest travel & visa regulations. Click below: